A bundle of good books

WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN READING LATELY?

I go through bouts with my reading. Sometimes for days, or even weeks, I am too busy or not inspired to pick up a book but then at other times I’m engulfed by the urge to read. I’ve been on a bit of a book buying bender the past few months – I blame my Kindle, it makes buying (and reading) books so very easy. So many good reads not enough time. I have of late endeavoured to make a dent in the ever-growing ‘stack’ hidden in my Kindle’s slender frame.

These books (below) have kept me up late at night, distracted me through the day – just one more page, I promise, and fulfilled my desires for a good story, interesting plot lines, well-developed characters, strong writing, unique writing styles and of course, entertainment value. Some are more literary and, in my opinion, better reads than others, but different genres fulfil different needs – the trash novel has as much place as the high-brow.

HHH is written by Laurent Binet and translated by Sam Taylor. Published by Random House in Australia (2012).

The Boat  – written by Nam Le and has won numerous literary awards. Published by Penguin Books Australia (2008).

All that I Am – written by Anna Funder has won numerous literary awards. Published by Penguin Books Australia (2011).

A Sport and a Pastime – written by James Salter. Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (1967).

The Street Sweeper – written by Elliot Perlman. Published by Random House in Australia (2011).

On the Road – written by Jack Kerouac. My copy published by Penguin Modern Classics (2011).

The Passage – written by Justin Cronin. Part one of the trilogy. Published by Orion (2010).

The Twelve – written by Justin Cronin. Part two of the trilogy. Published by Orion (2012).

Leave a Reply

